Three Mountain Alliance

The largest Watershed Partnership, the Three Mountain Alliance (originally known as the ‘Ōla‘a Kīlauea Partnership) was formed in 2007 and covers 1,116,300 acres. With 9 partners, the overall goal of the Three Mountain Alliance is to sustain the multiple ecosystem benefits of the three mountains of Kīlauea, Mauna Loa, and Hualālai by responsibly managing its watershed areas, native habitats and species, historical, cultural, and socio-economic resources for all who benefit from the continued health of the three mountains.

Where We Work and Resources Found

The Three Mountain Alliance (TMA) encompasses over one million acres (or 45%) of Hawai‘i island’s total 2,573,400 acres and consists of four priority management areas: ‘Ōla‘a Kīlauea, Ka‘ū Kapāpala, South Kona, and North Kona. The area is home to three of the island’s youngest volcanoes, Hualālai, Mauna Loa, and Kīlauea.

Approximately 85% of the total TMA land area is comprised of native ecosystems. The TMA contains some of the largest expanses of intact native forest remaining in the Hawaiian Islands (approximately 50% of the State’s remaining native habitat). Due to the variations in elevation, climate, and vegetation, the TMA is home to thousands of native species as well as rare and threatened or endangered species (many of which are endemic to the island).

Major native ecosystems found in the TMA include alpine, subalpine, montane (dry, mesic and wet), and lowland (dry, mesic and wet).

Please see the menu to the right for more information about TMA.

 For more information on upcoming events, including the art exhibition, Hawai’i Nei,click the TMA News tab to the right.